Tucked away inside an intimate 2003 concert focusing on John Mellencamp's then-new roots album 'Trouble No More' was a stripped-down take on his paean to all-American values, 'Small Town.'

Mellencamp is offering the song, via Billboard, as a preview of the forthcoming 'John Mellencamp Performs Trouble No More Live at Town Hall.' Due July 8, the recording also includes raw takes on 'Pink Houses' and 'Paper in Fire,' along with a complete reading of 'Trouble No More.' Tracks from that project were originally written by the likes of Robert Johnson, Bob Dylan and Woody Guthrie, among others.

Mellencamp performed 'Small Town' before just 1,500 lucky souls at Town Hall in New York a month after the release of 'Trouble No More,' even as the album debuted atop Billboard's Blues chart. This new live project is part of an extensive look back into Mellencamp's catalog to be released via Universal Media Enterprises over the next few years.

Mellencamp is also set issue an original album this fall called ‘Plain Spoken.’ That will mark his 22nd release, and his first for Republic Records. The label is trumpeting their new agreement as a lifetime contract.

'John Mellencamp Performs Trouble No More Live at Town Hall' Track Listing

1. 'Stones in My Passway'
2. 'Death Letter'
3. 'To Washington'
4. 'Highway 61 Revisited'
5. 'Baltimore Oriole'
6. 'Joliet Bound'
7. 'Down in the Bottom'
8. 'Johnny Hart'
9. 'Diamond Joe'
10. 'John the Revelator'
11. 'Small Town'
12. 'Lafayette'
13. 'Teardrops Will Fall'
14. 'Paper in Fire'
15. 'Pink Houses'